Get The Defense Necessary To Protect Your Future
Missouri law stipulates that any person under the age of 21 who possesses, purchases or attempts to purchase an intoxicating liquor can be charged with a misdemeanor and face significant penalties, including:
|State MIP Charge Consequences||Warrensburg MIP Charge Consequences|
First MIP conviction:
Second MIP conviction:
Third MIP conviction:
First MIP conviction:
'Visibly Intoxicated' Under 21? 'Zero Tolerance' In Warrensburg
If you are visibly intoxicated or have a detectable blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02 percent or more, you can be charged with an underage drinking violation, which is also punishable by up to $1,000 in fines, one year in jail and a license revocation of one year.
What Should You Do If You Have Been Charged With An Alcohol Crime As A Minor?
An experienced defense attorney may consider several defenses that can reduce the charges against you or get them dismissed. Attorney Lance A. Riddle has been defending students and others facing minor in possession, underage drinking, open container, and illegal driver's license or identification card (fake ID) charges in Johnson County and surrounding areas for over 20 years.
Attorney Riddle is also a former Missouri assistant attorney general, so he knows your case well from both sides of the courtroom. Our firm can even help you get a conviction expunged from your permanent record in many cases if it has been one year since your conviction or you are now older than 21.
Based in Warrensburg, just blocks from the University of Central Missouri and Warrensburg Municipal Court, the Lance A. Riddle Law Office, Attorneys at Law, is across the street from the county courthouse. We can relieve you of legal burdens and protect your rights against municipal and state charges.
Fake ID Charges Under 21 Are Serious — You Need A Lawyer Now
If you have purchased alcohol with a fake ID, been pulled over with a fake ID or otherwise presented a police officer with a fake ID (e.g., lending your ID to someone else or using someone else's license yourself), you will be charged with a misdemeanor for displaying the fake ID — punishable by up to a $500 fine.
You will face a separate misdemeanor charge if you are found to be the one who reproduced or altered the ID yourself — punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and one year in jail.
Do not take these charges lightly. They can stay on your permanent record and significantly impact your future, especially when applying to jobs and academic programs.
Your Case Can Be Defended — Schedule A Free Initial Consultation
There may be several ways to defend your case and get the charges against you reduced or dismissed, but every case is different. Speak with one of our lawyers today about your unique circumstances.
Please call us at 660-747-6600, or contact us through our secure online form. We are responsive and promptly return all calls and online communications.